Today’s the day!

Later today I will be en-route to Pau to start walking on the 25th March.  All my preparations are complete, I have had a “trial pack” of my rucksack and was delighted to discover it only weighs 8 kilos minus water, that is well within my target of 10 kgs.  I have completed all my training walks and feel very well physically; I don’t feel daunted by the prospect of walking 600 miles as I just think about one day at a time, should I burst into song!

I do feel guilty about leaving Eileen to cope with all the chores and the dog walking as well as do a demanding job, but I am blessed because she understands me and why I need to do this and she also appreciates how uplifted I was when I did it before.   God bless you darling.

My pal Paul who will be with me for the first 10 days is getting excited about the trip, I only hope he gets as much from it as I did, as it was down to me twittering about “the Camino” that fired him up to do it.

There will be more to follow as we progress, so stay tuned.

About petercamino

Hello, I plan to walk the Camino de Santiago in memory of my friend, Tony Embrey, who sadly passed away on March 16th 2010. Tony and I had been friends for many years and prior to his death in the Severn Hospice I agreed with him that I would do this walk to raise money for the hospice. Having suffered a heart attack when I initially attempted this walk in September 2007, and subsequently having a quadruple heart bypass, I also wish to support The British Heart Foundation. The Camino de Santiago (The Way of St James) is a pilgrimage walk to the city of Santiago de Compostela in north-west Spain. I have already completed the walk once, in 2008, when I started at St Jean Pied de Port on the French side of the Pyrenees, and finished 500 miles later, in Santigao De Compostela. This year I am setting out from Argagnon in south-west France on 25th March and hope to arrive in Santiago, 600 miles away, in early to mid May, Any support you can give to these worthy causes will be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Peter Booth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Today’s the day!

  1. Bob Bell says:

    Just want to wish you good luck. I hope you have a very enjoyable and worthwhile time. Look forward to reading the blog and seeing the photos.

Leave a comment