Peter’s Camino Story – Part 3

It is inevitable that I will have missed some names and I apologise for that but to everybody that I did meet, thank you for your company, your good humour, your friendship and if I bored you with my story, sorry, but to all of you Buen Camino on your journey through life.  Team Namibia arrived in Santiago de Compostela on Wednesday 4th May 2011 around 12.30pm, the tears flowed, the smiles were very wide, we all texted and phoned our arrival and waved like fools at the web-cam, we hugged and kissed and felt relieved that we had got there.

Santiago de Compostela Cathedral

From left - Connie, Peter and Hedwig at their destination

To sum up, the first ten days were good with Paul and the others. The middle was very tough for me personally, I could not have hung in there without Eileen and Rachel to get me through, the phone contact was expensive but so very necessary for me and my state of mind.  As for the last ten days I was privileged to meet two ladies who had a goal to do the Camino, who cheered me up and inspired me though they say the opposite!  Hedwig and Connie you are very special people I am so grateful that I had the good fortune to meet you and be part of Team Namibia.  We will meet again, that is a promise. God Bless.

To all those people who supported Paul and I in our Camino fund-raising, we are very grateful.  The final figure is not available as we are keeping the site open and there is money still coming in but it will be close to £2000. It will be divided between Severn Hospice and The British Heart Foundation.

To everyone who offered words of support via email and the blog – especially Tony’s wife Kath for her unstinting support – your kind words are much appreciated.  I did this in memory of a very good friend Tony Embrey, someone I admired, trusted and respected for twenty odd years, much missed, thanks for looking after me Tony.

About petercamino

Hello, I plan to walk the Camino de Santiago in memory of my friend, Tony Embrey, who sadly passed away on March 16th 2010. Tony and I had been friends for many years and prior to his death in the Severn Hospice I agreed with him that I would do this walk to raise money for the hospice. Having suffered a heart attack when I initially attempted this walk in September 2007, and subsequently having a quadruple heart bypass, I also wish to support The British Heart Foundation. The Camino de Santiago (The Way of St James) is a pilgrimage walk to the city of Santiago de Compostela in north-west Spain. I have already completed the walk once, in 2008, when I started at St Jean Pied de Port on the French side of the Pyrenees, and finished 500 miles later, in Santigao De Compostela. This year I am setting out from Argagnon in south-west France on 25th March and hope to arrive in Santiago, 600 miles away, in early to mid May, Any support you can give to these worthy causes will be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Peter Booth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peter’s Camino Story – Part 3

  1. Kathleen Embrey says:

    Some lovely Photos Pete,all those smiling faces makes one feel the community spirit that you all must of had.On behalf of my family and myself,Thank you Pete and thanks to Paul,the money raised is undoubtably for two worthy causes,I personally would not of known how I would of got through Tony’s illness without the support of my family,friends,the hospice and last but most definately not least,yourself and Eileen,two very special people indeed.Thank you.Special Thanks to Rachel for her updates x

Leave a Reply

