The Final Total

Hi folks,

this will probably be the final post on the blog and it is to let everyone know about the approximate final figure reached with our fundraising effort.  Paul did a fantastic job around the hospital raising mostly cash, from his colleagues, friends and acquaintances and with Gift Aid added his total will reach over £1000.00.   The Just Giving sites similarly will reach over £1100.00 and with Gift Aid will be close to £1500.

We are therefore looking at a figure close to £2500.00 to be divided equally between The Severn Hospice and The British Heart Foundation; we are absolutely delighted with this, it was our pleasure to walk for such worthy causes in memory of Tony.

We want to say to all of you who contibuted a huge thank you.   We have been overwhelmed by your generosity.  In the current difficult economic climate people have put their hands in their pockets because they have seen that others needs are greater than their own and for that you all deserve our deepest gratitude.  You are too numerous to mention by name, you are spread around the world, you are all ages, but you have one thing in common, you care about others and you make the world a better place.

THANK YOU.

Peter & Paul

Paul and Peter adding up the last donations

About petercamino

Hello, I plan to walk the Camino de Santiago in memory of my friend, Tony Embrey, who sadly passed away on March 16th 2010. Tony and I had been friends for many years and prior to his death in the Severn Hospice I agreed with him that I would do this walk to raise money for the hospice. Having suffered a heart attack when I initially attempted this walk in September 2007, and subsequently having a quadruple heart bypass, I also wish to support The British Heart Foundation. The Camino de Santiago (The Way of St James) is a pilgrimage walk to the city of Santiago de Compostela in north-west Spain. I have already completed the walk once, in 2008, when I started at St Jean Pied de Port on the French side of the Pyrenees, and finished 500 miles later, in Santigao De Compostela. This year I am setting out from Argagnon in south-west France on 25th March and hope to arrive in Santiago, 600 miles away, in early to mid May, Any support you can give to these worthy causes will be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Peter Booth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Final Total

  1. Jim Mullins says:

    Hi Peter, I enjoyed your blog which I just happened upon. Hope things are going well with you. I’m wondering if you might have the e-mail address for John and Kate a couple from Australia with ties to Canada? I’m not sure if you met them.

    I came home to spring in Montana so I was spoiled this year with flora in Europe and America.

    Jim

  2. William Robb says:

    Peter
    I am much encouraged by your account of the walk and the circumstances surrounding it. I had a quadruple heart bypass nearly a year ago and, because a friend asked me to walk it with him, am doing the Camino from St Jean Pied de Port at the end of April this year.
    Bill

    • petercamino says:

      Hi Bill,
      You will love it I am sure, it was the most uplifting thing I have ever done.You will meet great people and the spirit of friendship is very special.
      You have picked a good time,I did it the first time in September and in 2011 we started end March,it was very wet initially but we finished at the beginning of May and the weather was great, one tip keep the weight in your pack to 10% of bodyweight and you will be fine. If you want to chat you can ring me Tel.01743741125
      Cheers Peter

Leave a Reply

